Monday, April 2, 2018


Scott Niekum - along with three other UTCS professors—Vijay Chidambaram, Simon Peter, and Eric Price—have won the National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development award for 2018.

Popularly known as the NSF CAREER award, this is NSF's most prestigious award in support of early-career faculty "who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization." Don Fussell, the Trammell Crow Regents' Professor and Chair of the UT Computer Science department, said he was delighted but not surprised by the large number of UTCS faculty who won the CAREER award this year. 

"Like other top-10 CS departments, we usually get just one or two CAREER awards a year," he said. "This year, four of our junior faculty have won CAREER awards and two have won Sloan awards, which reflects the quality of our recent hires and the strong commitment to computer science by the University administration."